• Business
    Click HERE for Details
  • Nominees announced for Summerland Chamber Business and Community Excellence Awards 2018

    • Share:
    January 30, 2018
    Nominees announced for Summerland Chamber's 80th Annual Business & Community Excellence Awards
    The Summerland Chamber of Commerce will present the 80th Annual Business and Community Awards on Saturday, March 3rd.  These awards celebrate entrepreneurial spirit, leadership, best business practices, contribution to the economy and to the community.
    ​All of the award nominees will be honoured at a free Nominees Reception sponsored by Nesters Market, with support from Bottleneck Drive, on Friday, February 2nd from 5:00pm to 7:00pm. We invite the general public and all nominees to please join us.

    All nominees will be eligible in the voting process. From February 7th to 20th the business community will be able to vote in all categories. The general public will also be invited to vote for the Citizen/Volunteer of the Year award, The Arts Award, the Award for Excellence in Customer Service and the Excellence in Community Youth Leadership Award.  All awards will be presented at the Gala. The Mayor’s Award of Excellence, given at the Mayor’s discretion to a local organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the community, will also be presented at that time. 

    The Gala will be held on Saturday, March 3rd at Centre Stage and tickets will be available beginning February 2nd online at the Summerland Chamber of Commerce website.

    Nominations closed on January 25th with 54 businesses and individuals being nominated in 15 categories. The nominees are as follows:
    Business of the Year, sponsored by Summerland Credit Union
    8th Generation Vineyards
    ABK Restoration Services Ltd.
    Alder Street Autobody
    Bead Trails Experience
    Maple Roch Pure Canadian Maple Syrup
    Summerland District Credit Union
    Summerland Gold and Silver Exchange
    Swiss Solar Tech Ltd.
    Yaki’s Pizza and Subs
    Zia’s Stonehouse Restaurant
    Rising Star/New Business, sponsored by RBC Royal Bank
    Angella Dykstra Chartered Professional Accountant
    Antlers Surf
    The Chalk House
    Detonate Brewing Company
    Giants Head Barbershop
    Koncept Kalifornia
    Mountain View Landscape Supplies
    Nomad Cider
    Rustic and Refined
    Union Kitchen Inc.
    Yvonne Whiting, Notary Public

    Sustainability Leader Award, sponsored by SummerGate Winery
    Ogopogo Tours
    Swiss Solar Tech Ltd.

    Technology and Innovation Award, sponsored by Accelerate Okanagan
    ElectroMotion Energy
    Swiss Solar Tech Ltd.

    Award for Excellence in Agriculture, sponsored by Summerland's Bottleneck Drive Winery Association
    Adrian Arts
    Brarstar Orchards
    Summerland Sweets

    Professional Services Excellence Award, sponsored by Brown Benefits
    ABK Restoration Services Ltd.
    Beauty & the Brit
    Chantelle Meriam/Retha Marsden – Edward Jones
    Morpheus Graphix
    Open Skies Media
    Summerland District Credit Union
    Wag Spa
    Wanda Barkwill
    Trade Services Excellence, sponsored by Alder Street Auto Body 
    Deputy Diesel Performance

    Manufacturing/Industrial Excellence, sponsored by Community Futures Okanagan Similkameen
    Noah’s Ark Metal Work
    John Rousseau Design

    Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award, sponsored by IGA Summerland
    Dustin Minty – Evolution Athletics
    Huan Pham - Lakeshore Fitness + Health
    Mike Hughes and Lauren Forsyth – Grasslands Nursery

    Tourism/ Hospitality Excellence, sponsored by Sumac Ridge Estate Winery  
    8th Generation Vineyards
    Bead Trails Experience
    Donita Dyer – Summerland Bottleneck Drive Wine Association
    True Grain Bread
    Retail Excellence Award, sponsored by the Summerland Review
    Bead Trails Experience
    Summerland Gold and Silver Exchange
    The Peach Pitt of Summerland
     Award for Excellence in Customer Service sponsored by RE/MAX Orchard Country
    Katerina Bakalos-Roshier – Summerland Gold and Silver Exchange/Green Gaia Products
    Nicole Haddow – Esthetics by Nicole
    Mirjana Komljenovic – Neighbourlink/Maple Roch
    Roch Fortin – Maple Roch
    Terry Sedawie – RBC
    Yolanta Malkovska – 8th Generation Vineyard
    The Arts Award
    Bead Trails Experience
    Dianne Hildebrand
    Peter Hay/Dorthea Atwater – Ryga Festival
    Rudy Skoreyko – Artisans of the Okanagan
    Citizen /Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by Nesters Market
    Dan Dinsmore
    Erick Thompson
    Ingrid Wuensche
    Mirjana Komljenovic
    Sophia Zhang
    Terry Sedawie
    Excellence in Community Youth Leadership Award, sponsored by Neighbourlink
    Grant Mansiere
    Jillian Henrichsen
    Tiana Ferlizza
    Shaylyn Robertson, Communications and Membership Coordinator
    (250) 494-2686